How to: Line your Draws

photo 4

{supplies: scissors, double sided tape, and (un)scented liners}

photo 3

{clean, empty drawer}

photo 1

{measure, cut, tape and lay down lining}

photo 2

{cleanly lined and reorganized sock/jewelry drawer – sock dividers from the container store}

As much of an organize freak as I am, I have never lined my drawers. I’ve had this large chest of drawers since I was born and it’s a family heirloom so it was in need of a little TLC. There is nothing wrong with the drawers or the overall structure but some of the wood was splintering inside and tearing at my clothes. So all I needed were liners. I found lavender scented ones at Bed, Bath, and Beyond and the rest of the supplies I had around the house. Once I emptied out all the content, wiped down the insides to gather up any loose particles so the lining lays completely flat. Next measure the bottom and cut the lining accordingly (you might need two sheets depending on the size of your drawer/lining). Then layout double sided tape on the top and sides, finish off by laying the lining down and smoothing it out. Now all that is left to do is reorganize each drawer (my favorite part). My one tip for this DIY is, if you’re going to do it make sure you take your time to do it right. It’s a simple but time-consuming task and is not worth attempting unless you do it the correct way.

Leave a Reply

